//
you're reading...
Leadership, Reposted Articles

2014 in Review – Top 10 Blog Posts – @JesseLynStoner

I have long been a fan of Jesse Lyn Stoner’s blog and her thought provoking posts on Leadership, so wanted to share her review of top 2014 posts – 2014 in Review – My Top 10 Blog Posts – Jesse Lyn Stoner. Enjoy!

For ease of access her top 10 are listed below:

#1.  How to Create a Shared Vision That Works

This was a break-away top post, placing it among my all-time top posts ever. I am delighted because I spent three years getting ready to write this post. It outlines the steps to create a shared vision by providing links to posts I have written over the past three years and includes all the major concept in my book Full Steam Ahead! Unleash the Power of Vision. Many people write a book comprised of their blog posts, but this might be the first time someone has unpacked their book and turned it into a comprehensive series of blog posts.

#2.  The 40 Best Leadership Quotes

This is another break-away post that ranks among my all-time top posts. I wrote it because I had been looking for some good leadership quotes and noticed that none of the lists had more than 10% by women. It was so out of balance that I decided to create a list of great quotes mostly by women. I never mentioned the ratio and the funny thing is that although this list has been quite popular, no one seems to have noticed that the quotes are primarily by women.

#3.  5 Questions That Will Help You Be a Better Leader

This is likely to become another all time best post because it is already number 3 on the list and was just published a month ago.

#4.  Emergent Leadership Topples the Pyramid

I’m glad this one is so high on the list because it is my favorite post of the year. It presents a different model of leadership – non-hierarchical – and challenges some current thinking about servant leadership. I spent a lot of time researching examples and working on this post and am proud of it.

#5.  How to REALLY Listen

The learning for me in this one was a post can be very short and still very powerful. (This is a skill Seth’s Blog and Dan Rockwell @leadershipfreak have mastered). What I especially like about this post is I don’t bother with any the old “active listening” stuff. It gets right to the heart of the matter.

#6.  Results Driven vs Process Driven Leadership

Provides guidelines for when to involve others and when to do it yourself.

#7.  The Two Faces of Leadership

I am pleased this is such a popular post for two reasons – 1) it’s such an important message and I’m glad others agree, and 2) I spent about half the amount of time writing this which reinforces that my goal to reduce my writing time is realistic.

#8.  How to Identify Team Values that Unify and Guide Your Team

I originally wrote this piece for inclusion in Barbara Kimmel’s new book TRUST Inc.: 52 Weeks of Activities and Inspirations for Building Workplace Trust.

#9.  The 12 Team Behaviors That Drive Team Performance

This posts discusses what you can do as a team member to help your team become a high performance team.

#10.  The Art of Hosting Meaningful Meetings

There is only one good reason to have a meeting – to create and tap into the collective wisdom of the group.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to get email notifications.

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 34,147 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 465 other followers

Follow Martin Davis' Blog on WordPress.com
